In case of an emergency call 911

Most of the R.M. of Mountain is within the Provincial Burn Permit Area, requiring a permit from Manitoba Conservation April 1st – November 15 (Call (204) 734-3429). A Burn Permit is also required from the Municipality. Permits are available at no cost and provide evidence of precautions taken to keep a fire under control.

Fires burning out of control may be investigated and charges may be laid under The Wildfires Act. Please respect weather conditions, continue to check our website for Fire Ban status, and never leave a fire unattended.

We wish all residents review the basic Do’s and Don’ts of buring, click here.

REPORT WILDFIRES 1-800-782-0076 or STUBBLE BURNING 1-800-265-1233

The Rural Municipality of Mountain is home to two Fire Departments, which are completely made up of volunteers who provide their time, energy and resources in order to keep our Municipality safe.

Birch River Fire Department
Fire Chief: Dave Forbes
Deputy Fire Chief: Dion Mosiondz
Lieutenant: Ferlin Abrahamson
Ray Wotton
Bill Sigurdson
Jonathan Forbes
Dennis Sigurdson
Ben Kroeker
Brenin Wasylciw
Collin Kroeker
Jeffery Abrahamson
Arnie Pedersen
Melvin Plett
Michael Plett
Randy Plett
Matthew Forbes
Vlad Matejka
Shane Ducharme

Pine River Fire Department
Fire Chief: Andy Schellenberg
Deputy Fire Chief: Michael Barschewsky
Captain: Tom Nakonechny
Captain: Mervin Goosen
Dwight Goosen
Ron Sheska
Rudy Wohlgemuth
Nicholas Kolisnyk (Cowan)
Carson Toews
Kelsey Doerksen
Ernie Serwa
Rueben Wohlgemuth
Wilmer Malcolm
Ty Pettyjohn
Trent Goossen
Matthew Linnick